case studies

Medical Collection Inselspital Bern

Digitalisation means that many parts of life are increasingly taking place on the internet. For this reason, the medical collection of the Inselspital Bern has decided to build its new museum on the history of medicine and the island purely digitally with programming from Code Crush.

Jam-Stack

Web

The Inselspital Bern has a history that goes back to 1345. Medicine, but also the Inselspital itself, have changed greatly during this time. It is precisely this change and all that it has brought with it that the digital museum of the Bern Medical Collection aims to illuminate. With at least 200 A4 pages of text and over 600 illustrations and videos and (soon) four languages on offer, the museum has something for everyone.

The three main building blocks that make up the digital museum are highlighted in this case study.

#1 The main exhibition


As soon as you "enter" the museum, you find yourself in the main exhibition. The history of medicine is told with the help of ten verbs. You can move between different "rooms" using a slider. Texts, pictures, videos, audios and quizzes provide an interactive view of the history of medicine.

#2 History of the Inselspital


In addition to the general history of medicine, the Inselspital itself is also highlighted. Using a swiper, you can click your way through the 600 years and read, for example, the story of the breakout king of the Inselspital Bern or watch a video on the nursing shortage in 1966. Like the entire museum, the section on the history of medicine is of course optimised for all devices.

#3 The Collection


In addition to these three large sections of the website, there is of course still plenty of room for future additions. In further steps, for example, special exhibitions or a section for news articles on the history of medicine are being considered. Due to the scalable development of the website with a user-friendly backend, the implementation of new functions and content is no problem.

#n The future


In addition to these three large sections of the website, there is of course still plenty of room for future additions. In further steps, for example, special exhibitions or a section for news articles on the history of medicine are being considered. Due to the scalable development of the website with a user-friendly backend, the implementation of new functions and content is no problem.

Technology


Probably the biggest technical challenge of this website was that it runs fast on all devices despite an extremely large number of images and videos. However, with the help of modern technologies from the JAM stack, this hurdle was easily overcome. The backend is based on the headless CMS Storyblok, the frontend was developed with Nuxt, a Vue framework.

Conclusion


We would like to thank the medical collection of the Inselspital Bern for the good cooperation in this project. It was a great pleasure for us to be part of this innovative project.

In October 2021, the digital museum was officially opened with a launch event in Bern and is now open around the clock to all interested parties.

And here's how to get to the museum: https://medizinsammlung.ch/


Disclaimer: The image used at the beginning of this case study comes from the Inselspital Bern Medical Collection / Photo: Rolf Zimmermann.

case studies

Medizinsammlung Inselspital Bern

Die Digitalisierung bringt es mit sich, dass viele Teile des Lebens vermehrt auch im Internet stattfinden. Aus diesem Grund hat sich die Medizinsammlung des Inselspital Bern dazu entschieden, ihr neues Museum zur Medizin- und Insel-Geschichte mit einer Programmierung von Code Crush rein digital aufzubauen.

Jam-Stack

Web

Das Inselspital Bern hat eine Geschichte die bis ins Jahr 1345 zurückgeht. Die Medizin, aber auch das Inselspital selber, haben sich in dieser Zeit stark gewandelt. Genau diesen Wandel und was dieser alles mit sich gebracht hat, soll das digitale Museum der Medizinsammlung Bern beleuchten. Mit mindestens 200 A4-Seiten Text und über 600 Abbildungen und Videos und (bald) vier angebotenen Sprachen bietet das Museum für alle etwas.


Die drei wichtigsten Bausteine, aus denen das digitale Museum besteht, werden in dieser Case Study beleuchtet.



#1 Die Hauptausstellung


Sobald das Museum "betreten" wird, befindet man sich in der Hauptausstellung. Anhand von zehn Verben wird die Geschichte der Medizin erzählt. Mittels einem Slider kann man sich zwischen verschiedenen "Sälen" bewegen. Anhand von Texten, Bildern, Videos, Audios, Quizzes kann die Geschichte der Medizin so interaktiv betrachtet werden.

#2 Die Geschichte des Inselspitals


Nebst der allgemeinen Geschichte der Medizin wird auch jene des Inselspitals selber beleuchtet. Mittels einem Swiper kann man sich durch die rund 600 Jahre klicken und kann so zum Beispiel die Geschichte des Ausbrecherkönigs des Inselspital Bern lesen oder einen Video zum Pflegemangel im Jahr 1966 schauen. Wie das gesamte Museum ist natürlich auch der Teil zur Medizingeschichte für alle Geräte optimiert.

#3 Die Sammlung


Nebst diesen drei grossen Teilen der Webseite ist natürlich auch noch viel Raum für zukünftige Ergänzungen. In weiteren Schritten sind beispielsweise Sonderausstellungen oder ein Bereich für Newsbeiträge zur Medizingeschichte angedacht. Durch die skalierbare Entwicklung der Webseite mit einem benutzer:innenfreundlichen Backend ist die Implementierung von neuen Funktionen und Inhalten kein Problem.

#n Die Zukunft


Nebst diesen drei grossen Teilen der Webseite ist natürlich auch noch viel Raum für zukünftige Ergänzungen. In weiteren Schritten sind beispielsweise Sonderausstellungen oder ein Bereich für Newsbeiträge zur Medizingeschichte angedacht. Durch die skalierbare Entwicklung der Webseite mit einem benutzer:innenfreundlichen Backend ist die Implementierung von neuen Funktionen und Inhalten kein Problem.



Technologie


Die wohl grösste technische Herausforderung dieser Webseite war es, dass sie trotz extrem vieler Bilder und Videos auf allen Geräten schnell läuft. Mittels moderner eingesetzter Technologien aus dem JAM-Stack konnte diese Hürde aber problemlos bewältigt werden. Als Backend wird auf Headless-CMS Storyblok gesetzt, das Frontend wurde mit Nuxt, einem Vue-Framework, entwickelt.



Fazit


Wir möchten uns herzlich bei der Medizinsammlung des Inselspital Bern für die gute Zusammenarbeit bei diesem Projekt bearbeiten. Bei diesem innovativen Projekt dabei zu sein, hat uns viel Freude bereitet.

Im Oktober 2021 wurde das digitale Museum offiziell mit einem Launch-Event in Bern eröffnet und steht nun allen interessierten rund um die Uhr offen.

Und hier geht's zum Museum: https://medizinsammlung.ch/





Disclaimer: Das verwendete Bild am Anfang dieser Case Study stammt von der Medizinsammlung Inselspital Bern / Foto: Rolf Zimmermann.